WBZ-AM Named Regional Recipient of Two Murrow Awards

2018 Edwards R. Murrow Awards (Credit the Radio Television Digital News Association RTDNA)

BOSTON, MA (WBZ-AM) – WBZ NewsRadio1030 was named a recipient of two 2018 Edward R. Murrow Awards in the northeast region on Wednesday.

The station received the awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) for breaking news coverage of the suicide of Aaron Hernandez and for the 5pm newscast on October 3, 2017, just a few days after the deadly mass shooting in Las Vegas.

Late WBZ NewsRadio1030 veteran reporter Lana Jones features prominently in the award-winning coverage of the suicide of Aaron Hernandez – she was just in court with him a few days earlier and had extensively covered his murder trials.

These awards given by the RTDNA in many regions across the country. 

The station now advances to the National Murrow Award competition to determine the most deserving in the nation in each category to be announced in June. The Murrow Awards recognize outstanding achievements in journalism.

The full list of Region 10 (New England) winners can be found here: 

The full list of other regions can be found here:

Listen to Audio of the submissions below:

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content