8 Of 14 Mass. Counties Now In CDC COVID Red Zone

Photo: Centers for Disease Control

BOSTON (WBZ NewsRadio) — The U.S. Centers for Disease Control are now recommending that people wear masks indoors in all of Massachusetts. Eight of the state's 14 counties are in the red, "High" transmission zone for COVID-19, while the other 6 are in the orange "Substantial" zone.

The CDC recommends anyone in Substantial or High risk zones wear a mask indoors, regardless of vaccination status. The counties in the High risk zone were:

  • Berkshire County
  • Bristol County
  • Plymouth County
  • Dukes County
  • Essex County
  • Hampden County
  • Suffolk County
  • Nantucket County

In the orange, Substantial risk zone were:

  • Franklin County
  • Hampshire County
  • Middlesex County
  • Norfolk County
  • Worcester County
  • Barnstable County

Hampshire County had been the only county in the state not under the CDC mask recommendation, until this new map was issued. In the latest daily report on Friday, Massachusetts had 1,182 new cases, with 375 in the hospital and 85 in the ICU. There were 11 new, confirmed COVID deaths, and a positivity rate of 2.89%.

Follow WBZ NewsRadio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | iHeartmedia App

Written by Chaiel Schaffel

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content