Beanpot Returns Tonight After Pandemic Hiatus

Photo: Getty Images

BOSTON (WBZ NewsRadio) — A college hockey tradition is making its return.

Monday, Feb. 7 marks the 69th annual Beanpot college hockey tournament between Boston's four main college hockey teams—Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, and Northeastern. The 2021 tournament was canceled due to the pandemic.

The Beanpot is a historic tournament and has seen the same four teams face off for Boston college hockey supremacy since 1952, when the Harvard Crimson beat the Boston University Terriers 7-1. The Terriers lead all teams with 30 total Beanpot championships.

This year's tournament begins Monday with the two single-elimination semifinal matchups. In the first game, Boston University will take on Harvard at 5 p.m., and then at 8 p.m., Boston College will take on the defending 2020 champions Northeastern. All games will be played at the TD Garden and broadcasted on NESN.

Read More: Blood Drive On Cape Cod To Honor Local Soldier Killed In Afghanistan

The winner of each semifinal will book themselves a spot to compete for the Beanpot championship, which is set for 7:30 p.m. on Monday, Feb. 14. The losers of the two semifinals will compete in a consolation game the same day at 4:30 p.m.

The Northeastern Huskies are the defending Beanpot champions and have the last three championships. Boston University has the longest Beanpot drought at the moment, having won their last title in 2015.

Both Northeastern and Boston University are ranked in the current U.S. College Hockey Online Poll, with the Huskies ranked No. 16 and the Terriers ranked No. 19.

The Women's Beanpot Final will take place Tuesday, Feb. 8 at Northeastern's Matthew's Arena, with a matchup between Boston College and Harvard.

WBZ's Jim MacKay (@JimMacKayOnAir) reports.

Follow WBZ NewsRadio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | iHeartmedia App

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content