Four New England Senators Join Bipartisan Group Supporting Election Results

BOSTON (WBZ NewsRadio) — Four U.S. Senators from New England are among a group of ten bipartisan lawmakers who signed a statement Sunday supporting the upcoming confirmation of Joe Biden as 46th President of the Unites States.

Maine Republican Senator Susan Collins and Independent Senator Angus King, and New Hampshire Democratic Senators Jeanne Shaheen and Maggie Hassan joined six other Senators releasing the statement ahead of this week's Congressional certification of the presidential election results.

"The 2020 election is over," the bipartisan group's statement said. "All challenges through recounts and appeals have been exhausted. At this point, further attempts to cast doubt on the legitimacy of the 2020 Presidential election are contrary to the clearly expressed will of the American people and serve to undermine Americans' confidence in the already determined election results."

"The voters have spoken," the statement continued, "and Congress must now fulfill its responsibility to certify the election results. In two weeks, we will begin working with our colleagues and the new Administration on bipartisan common sense solutions to the enormous challenged facing our country. It is time to move forward."

The statement was released Sunday after Vice President Mike Pence had sworn in the Senators for the 117th U.S. Congress, and after a group of at least 12 GOP lawmakers announced their intent to challenge Biden's presidential win on Wednesday.

Read More: Newly-Sworn In Rep. Auchincloss Slams GOP Sens. Vetoing Electoral College

The statement also follows the release of an audio tape obtained by the Washington Post, in which President Trump can be heard urging Georgia's Republican Secretary of State to "find" enough votes to overturn his defeat in the state.

Along with Sens. Collins, King, Hassan and Shaheen, the statement was signed by Sens. Joe Manchin (D-WV), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Dick Durban (D-IL), and Mitt Romney (R-UT.)

Follow WBZ NewsRadio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | iHeartmedia App

Written by Brit Smith

(Photo: Getty Images)

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content