Here's What To Know About The Massachusetts Mask Mandate


BOSTON (WBZ NewsRadio) — The face-covering mandate issued by Gov. Charlie Baker takes effect Wednesday. People who do not wear a face covering could be fined up to $300, with local officials expected to handle enforcement.

The mandate requires everyone in Massachusetts to wear a face covering in a public place, both inside and outdoors, when they can't socially distance themselves from others.

In announcing the mandate on Friday, Baker said it applies to runners, "because they are going to end up spending a fair amount of time during the course of that run well within six feet of a whole lot of other people."

Those exempted from the face mask requirements include anyone with a medical condition that prevents them from wearing a face covering and children 2 years old or younger. State officials are expected to release additional information about face coverings for children ages 2 to 5.

Baker advises people not to buy medical masks, which he says should remain available to medical worker and first responders.

You can use a T-shirt or bandanna as a face covering or make a homemade mask. You can even make a homemade mask without sewing.

Follow WBZ NewsRadio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | iHeartmedia App


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content