Massachusetts Representatives Vote For Impeachment

President Trump the night of the impeachment vote. (Sarah Silbiger/Getty Images)

BOSTON (WBZ NewsRadio) — The House on Representatives voted to impeach President Donald Trump Wednesday night on charges of abuse of power and obstruction of Congress.

Trump is the third president in U.S. history to be impeached, following former presidents Bill Clinton and Andrew Johnson.

The vote for impeachment was split along party lines, 230-197 on the first article on abuse of power. The second article, obstruction of congress, totaled 229-198. Of the votes for impeachment, 229 were democrats and one was an independent. Two democrats voted against impeachment along with 195 republicans.

All nine representatives from Massachusetts, who are all democrats, voted for impeachment.

“Today we send a clear message: we will not tolerate abuses of power from the President of the United States of America,” Rep. Ayanna Pressley said. "The future of this nation rests in our hands."

Every member of the house from New England states voted for impeachment. Maine congressman Jared Golden split his vote; he voted against obstruction of Congress and approved the article on abuse of power.

"The president undermined our democracy," Rep. Jim McGovern said. "The president, a successor to the same office as George Washington and Abraham Lincoln, betrayed his oath to preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution of the United States."

WBZ NewsRadio's Jim MacKay (@JimMacKayOnAir) reports

Follow WBZ NewsRadio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | iHeartmedia App

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content