The CDC's New Mask Guidance For Massachusetts, Explained

Photo: Getty Images

BOSTON (WBZ NewsRadio) — The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention released new mask guidance for Massachusetts and the rest of the country on Tuesday, citing the Delta variant of COVID-19.

The new guidance advised people to wear a mask indoors, regardless of vaccination status — but only in certain areas, where virus transmission was "substantial" or "high."

Those aren't self-defined categories: "high" transmission means more than 100 cases per 100,000 people in the particular location, and "substantial" means between 50-100.

The CDC released a map of the entire country, by county, breaking down which areas were considered substantial or high transmission.

For Massachusetts, that means the following counties:

High Transmission

  • Barnstable County (Cape Cod)

Substantial Transmission:

  • Suffolk County (Boston, Chelsea, Revere, Winthrop)
  • Bristol County (Places like Fall River, New Bedford, and Taunton)
  • Dukes County (Martha's Vineyard and the Elizabeth Islands)
  • Nantucket County (Nantucket)

The CDC also said that all school students and staff should be wearing masks, regardless of vaccination status, but said students should return to in-person class in the fall.

Follow WBZ NewsRadio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | iHeartmedia App

Written by Chaiel Schaffel

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content