Virginia Teens Could Face $250 Fine For Trick-Or-Treating

(Getty Images)

CHESAPEAKE, VA (WBZ NewsRadio) — Those daring to trick-or-treat over the age of 14 in Chesapeake, Virginia risk getting hit with a fine of $250.

It's a Class Four misdemeanor, and those who are out past 8 p.m. are subject to the same penalty regardless of age, according to CNN.

Although the ordinance is real, it hasn't been practiced. It has been about 50 years since the original legislation was put into place and no one has been arrested for this crime. Police are not patrolling the streets to card teenagers, according to local authorities.

"[The law] only existed to give Police an option, should things get out of hand on Halloween. In fact, it was created following a particularly violent Halloween in a neighboring City," the Chesapeake Police said in a Facebook post. "While we appreciate all of the concern and attention we have received, we’d like to assure everyone that, in fact, we do NOT arrest teens for trick-or-treating and never have.

This isn't the original law, this is an updated ordinance from the 70s. Originally it forbade any child over 12-years-old from trick-or-treating and said if they did, they could face real jail time.

Chesapeake spokesperson Heath Covey told CNN the spirit of the rule "We want every person in Chesapeake to have a fun and safe Halloween. This ordinance will not prevent them from doing that."

Follow WBZ NewsRadio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | iHeartmedia App

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content